08.06.2009

Regions of Kazakhstan: Economic Review

Sergey ABAKSHIN

Having the territory in five Frances, Kazakhstan already on this parameter can not have homogeneous economic structure. Un-even distribution of people, water, soil suitable for agriculture and other resources became the reason of significant and sharp economic differentiation of the country. Let's examine the key differences of regions.

2009-06-08-kaz_mapBy administrative division Kazakhstan has 14 oblasts (regions) and two cities of republican submission — Astana and Almaty. Also, there is Baikonur, the city with space-vehicle launching site of the same name. Baikonur city has the specific status, something like rent territory of Russian Federation.

Geographically located from west to east of the country the Atyrauskaya, Mangystauskaya, Zapadno-Kazakhstanskaya (West-Kazakhstan), Aktyubinskaya and Kyzylordinskaya oblasts can be determined as oil-gas regions. Their distinctive features are the following: high level of the investments (more than 50 % of all capital investments in the country), mono-orientated economy, underdeveloped processing and agricultural sectors. Besides, the dieing periphery within the oblasts, high level of poverty and unemployment are typical for the whole region. In accordance with the official statistical data 18,3 % of the population of the country stay at this economic region.

Kostanaiskaya oblast in the north of the Republic, also Zhambylskaya and Yuzhno-Kazakhstanskaya (South-Kazakhstan) oblasts in the south of the country could be called as agrarian-industrial regions. Two last oblasts border on each other but they haven't the common border with Kostanaiskaya oblast (they are separated from it by Karagandinskaya oblast). These three oblasts mostly specialized in agriculture and have the resources for development of industrial potential. Also all the region has attractive natural resources. In southern agrarian-industrial oblasts the agriculture is irrigating, and in northern oblast it is dry-farming. 27,4 % of the population of republic lives at this region.

The other agricultural oblasts are divided into two huge tracts of land, namely: Almatinskaya oblast is in the southeast of the country, Severo-Kazakhstanskaya (North-Kazakhstan) and Akmolinskaya oblasts are in the north of the country (the two last are located to the east of Kostanaiskaya oblast and have the common border). The mentioned three oblasts are specializing on agriculture. The moving changes in agricultural development are different, the oblasts have the weak industrial base. Officially 20% of Kazakhstan population stay at agricultural regions.

The industrial areas represent a wide wedge which is narrowed from east to the centre of the country. They are Pavlodarskaya, Vostochno-Kazakhstanskaya (East-Kazakhstan) and Karagandinskaya oblasts. The huge amounts of black and color metals, perspective processing sector, differentiated manufacture, the more advanced peripheries are the typical features of the given oblasts. According to official statistics, 23,3 % of the population of the country lives in industrial regions.

The cities of republican submission like Astana and Almaty are the consumer centres. High level of the incomes of the population, highly developed sector of services are their distinctive features. The trade revolution in these cities makes almost half of the national revolution. True, the experts don't believe the official demographic statistics, in accordance with which 11,9 % of the population lives in these cities. The experts emphasize that at 16 millions of inhabitants of Kazakhstan minimum 2 millions of inhabitants are concentrated in Almaty. Also, one million of population stay at Almaty agglomeration which submits to Almatinskaya oblast with the centre in Taldykorgan city. Many of Karaganda or Shymkent citizens prefer to buy automobiles in Almaty because of the richest choice. This fact also explains a high trade revolution came to Almaty and Astana cities.

The economic and geographical disproportion of regions of Kazakhstan continues to accrue. While some oblasts are successfully developing, the others are turning into depressive areas. In 2008 Almaty city (18%) and Atyrauskaya oblast (11%) dominated in a share of gross national product (it is considered on oblasts). The least contribution into gross national product was brought by Zhambylskaya oblast (2 %).

Nobody cancelled particularism, e.g. the local specific features, therefore each oblast of the country has its typical features.

Akmolinskaya oblast: there is a good base for manufacture and processing grain-crops, also for meat and milk live-stock farming.

Aktyubinskaya oblast: among all the oil-gas region the oblast has the best conditions for diversification of manufacture. The oblast is rich with chromium.

Almatinskaya oblast: the oblast is the leader with scope of agricultural manufacture in the country. The consumer demand grows slowly in the region.

Atyrauskaya oblast: in light of investment activity the oblast has the leading position in the republic. Besides oil extracting and oil processing all the other sectors of economy are stagnating. The fish recourses of the oblast are decreasing because of wide spread poaching (sturgeon fish — delicious meat and black caviar).

Vostochno-Kazakhstanskaya (East-Kazakhstan) oblast: color metallurgy, motor industry (assembly), metal industry, manufacture of fabrics, manufacture of building materials, food-processing industry. The State Monetary mint is located in Ust-Kamenogorsk city.

Zhambylskaya oblast: 72 % of balance stocks of Kazakhstan phosphorites is concentrated in the oblast, there are the other minerals (68 % of fluor-spar). Unfortunately, the region remains as agricultural one.

Zapadno-Kazakhstanskaya (West-Kazakhstan) oblast: this is the large oil-gas region. The other segments are developing narrowly. It is possible to allocate manufacture of oil-gas equipment.

Karagandinskaya oblast: This is the advanced base of black and color metallurgy, industry is diversificated. The territory of the oblast is the largest one in the Republic.

Kostanaiskaya oblast: there is a good base for manufacture and processing grain-crops, also for meat and milk live-stock farming. 100 % of Kazakhstan bauxites are concentrated in the oblast.

Kyzylordinskaya oblast: all the sectors of economy excepting oil and gas are developed poorly. Also, since 2003 production of hydro-carbon stuff has been falling. There are the sharp ecological problems.

Mangystauskaya oblast: despite of enormous natural recourses only production of oil and gas is developing actively. Port Aktau on the intercontinental Caspian sea is the main sea gate of the country.

Pavlodarskaya oblast: the oblast has the diversificated industrial and agricultural manufacture, rich recourses of raw materials.

Severo-Kazakhstanskaya (North-Kazakhstan) oblast: there is a good base for manufacture of grain-crops. The enterprises of the former USSR strategic-industrial complex do not work. The oblast has the lowest parameter in industry development among the other oblasts.

Yuzhno-Kazakhstanskaya (South-Kazakhstan) oblast: the oblast is one of the densely populated in the country. Growth of food-processing industry on the basis of local raw stuff. Still the impressive industrial potential remains non-realized.

The economic and geographical disproportion of regions of Kazakhstan is the settled fact. The government realizes the significance of the situation and even is intended in rational territorial distribution of industry in the country in order to weaken asymmetry in development of areas. However, earlier nothing had changed in the situation with asymmetry in development of areas. Nowadays it's difficult to prove that something could turn out, especially as the previous experience showed the negative result.

5 comments

  1. scrat

    sad story again, why would we just forget about rest of Kaz. except Almaty and Astana (lucky city)?

  2. Anne

    Yes, you are quite right, it's really sad story. I've heard that Kazakhstan is a rich country. Seems that it's so. Poor people...

  3. Anonymous

    Есть территория... . Господа, и не более!!!

  4. крысобел

    ах оне бедняжки!

    Разъезжают на черных джиппах, ходят в лампасах от адидаса, да уж можно пожалеть, такая участь и от президента не скрылась, запретили черные джипы наконец-то ;0)

  5. Hi everybody,

    I'm happy to describe here www.theinvestblog.com an a worth thinking of

    type of earning. Can you imagine that one

    can make up to 3% a per day through by investing without limitations in without sum limits?

    I. e. that even having US$1.000,00 one may make the same amount in a monthly!

    If anyone gets interested welcome to visit my web site www.theinvestblog.com.

08.06.2009

Регионы Казахстана: экономический срез

Сергей АБАКШИН

Имея территорию в пять Франций, Казахстан уже по этому показателю не может иметь однородной экономической структуры. Неравномерность распределения людей, воды, пригодной для сельского хозяйства земли и других ресурсов привела к значительной, местами резкой экономической дифференциации страны. Остановимся на ключевых отличиях регионов.

2009-06-08-kaz_mapВ административном отношении Казахстан разделен на 14 областей и два города республиканского подчинения — Астана и Алматы. Есть еще город Байконур с одноименным космодромом, но у него специфический статус — что-то вроде арендной территории России.

Географически расположенные с запада на восток страны Атырауская, Мангистауская, Западно-Казахстанская, Актюбинская и Кызылординская области могут быть определены как нефтегазовые. Их отличительные черты: высокий уровень инвестиций (более 50% всех капиталовложений в страну), моноориентированная экономика, слаборазвитый обрабатывающий и сельскохозяйственный сектора. Другими характерными моментами можно назвать стагнирующие периферии внутри областей, высокий уровень бедности и безработицы. По официальным статистическим данным на этот экономический регион приходится 18,3% населения страны.

Костанайскую область на севере республики и Жамбылскую с Южно-Казахстанской на юге можно назвать аграрно-индустриальными. Две последние граничат друг с другом, а с Кустанайской общей границы не имеют (отделены от нее Карагандинской областью). У всех трех областей более выраженная специализация на сельском хозяйстве, но есть ресурсы для развития промышленного потенциала. Также все эти области располагают привлекательными природными ресурсами. В южных аграрно-индустриальных областях земледелие орошаемое, а в северной — богарное. В регионе проживает 27,4% населения республики.

Также на два массива разбиты сельскохозяйственные области: Алматинская на юго-востоке и Северо-Казахстанская с Акмолинской на севере (эти две находятся восточнее Костанайской области и граничат с ней). Здесь общая специализация на сельском хозяйстве, но разная динамика роста. Слабая промышленная база. Официально на сельскохозяйственные области приходится 20% казахстанцев.

Промышленные области представляют собой широкий клин, который сужается от востока к центру. Это Павлодарская, Восточно-Казахстанская и Карагандинская области. Для данных областей типичны крупные ресурсы черной и цветной металлургии, перспективный обрабатывающий сектор, дифференцированное производство, более развитые периферии. Согласно статистике, в промышленных областях проживает 23,3% населения страны.

Города республиканского подчинения Алматы и Астана — это потребительские центры. Их отличают высокий уровень доходов населения, развитие сектора услуг. Торговый оборот составляет почти половину общереспубликанского. Правда, в официальную демографическую статистику, будто в этих городах проживает 11,9% населения, никто из специалистов не верит. Эксперты подчеркивают, что при 16-ти миллионах жителей Казахстана в Алматы сосредоточены минимум 2 млн. Еще 1 млн. приходится на алматинскую агломерацию, которая территориально подчиняется Алматинской области с административным центром в городе Талдыкорган. Покупать автомобили многие жители Караганды или Шымкента тоже предпочитают в Алматы, поскольку здесь богаче выбор. Этим тоже объясняется высокий торговый оборот, приходящийся на Алматы и Астану.

Экономическая и географическая диспропорция регионов Казахстана продолжает нарастать. Пока одни области успешно развиваются, другие превращаются в депрессивные районы. В доле валового регионального продукта (считается по областям) за 2008 год доминировали город Алматы (18%) и нефтеносная Атырауская область (11%). Наименьший вклад внесла Жамбылская область (2%).

Партикуляризм — местные специфические особенности, никто не отменял, поэтому каждая из областей страны имеет свои характерные черты.

Акмолинская область: есть хорошая база для производства и переработки зерновых, а также для мясомолочного животноводства.

Актюбинская область. Из всех нефтегазовых областей располагает самым диверсифицированным производством. Содержит все запасы отечественного хрома.

Алматинская область — лидер по объемам сельскохозяйственного производства в стране, но в ней медленно растет потребительский спрос.

Атырауская область. В свете инвестиционной активности занимает ведущее положение в республике, но помимо нефтедобычи и нефтепереработки все остальные сектора стагнируют. Из-за разгула браконьерства в тяжелейшем положении оказались рыбные богатства области (здесь водятся рыбы осетровых пород — деликатесное мясо и черная икра).

Восточно-Казахстанская область: цветная металлургия, автомобилестроение (сборка), металлопрокат, производство тканей, строительных материалов, пищевая промышленность. Там же находится и монетный двор государства (в городе Усть-Каменогорск).

Жамбылская область. В ней сосредоточено 72% балансовых запасов фосфоритов Казахстана, есть другие полезные ископаемые (68% плавикового шпата), но отсутствует позитивная картина развития производств с высокой добавленной стоимостью. Область остается прежде всего сельскохозяйственной.

Западно-Казахстанская область — нефтегазовый район. Остальные сегменты развиваются узко. Можно выделить производство нефтегазового оборудования.

Карагандинская область. Развитая база черной и цветной металлургии, промышленность диверсифицирована. Это самая большая область страны по территории.

Костанайская область: производство зерна и продукции животноводства, добывается 100% казахстанских бокситов.

Кызылординская область. Все, что не касается нефти и газа, развито слабо. Да и добыча углеводородного сырья с 2003 года падает. Острые экологические проблемы.

Мангистауская область. Несмотря на колоссальные природные богатства, развивается практически только добыча нефти и газа. Порт Актау на внутриконтинентальном Каспийском море — главные морские ворота страны.
Павлодарская область. Обладает диверсифицированным промышленным и сельскохозяйственным производством, богатые запасы полезных ископаемых.

Северо-Казахстанская область. В первую очередь производство зерновых. Предприятия военно-промышленного комплекса, оставшиеся после СССР, не работают. Вообще по промышленности самый низкий показатель из всех областей республики.
Южно-Казахстанская область — одна из самых густонаселенных в стране. Рост пищевой промышленности на базе местного сырья. Внушительный промышленный потенциал остается нереализованным.

Экономическая и географическая диспропорция регионов Казахстана — это устоявшийся факт. Правительство его осознает и даже заявило о намерении рационального размещения производств, чтобы ослабить асимметрию развития областей. Вряд ли из этого что-нибудь получится, тем более что раньше никогда не получалось.

5 комментариев

  1. scrat

    sad story again, why would we just forget about rest of Kaz. except Almaty and Astana (lucky city)?

  2. Anne

    Yes, you are quite right, it's really sad story. I've heard that Kazakhstan is a rich country. Seems that it's so. Poor people...

  3. Анонимно

    Есть территория... . Господа, и не более!!!

  4. крысобел

    ах оне бедняжки!

    Разъезжают на черных джиппах, ходят в лампасах от адидаса, да уж можно пожалеть, такая участь и от президента не скрылась, запретили черные джипы наконец-то ;0)

  5. Hi everybody,

    I'm happy to describe here www.theinvestblog.com an a worth thinking of

    type of earning. Can you imagine that one

    can make up to 3% a per day through by investing without limitations in without sum limits?

    I. e. that even having US$1.000,00 one may make the same amount in a monthly!

    If anyone gets interested welcome to visit my web site www.theinvestblog.com.