17.09.2009

People and politics in Kazakhstan

By Sergey ABAKSHIN

The Sky born crowd not for a ruler; it enthrones a ruler for crowd

Jun-Zi

The thing that people of Kazakhstan is not the subject of politics (only the object), has been often remarked by sociologist Sabit Zusupov (died in 2007). In neighbor Russia, by his words, were the subject of politics even in 90’s and stays in such way until now. By the way, no all of Russian experts were agree with Zusupov, supposing that the nation of Russian Federation is only an object, and politics has inter-elite nature. However, facts are forcing to agree with Sabit Zusupov valuation.

* * *

2009 09 17 NarodichkoKazakhstan and Russia allegedly very similar to each other: both countries are hyper-territorial (lack of population on its territories), and human resources are distributed extremely irregularly. But namely total number of population is appearing as waterfront between Astana and Moskow.

At once we’ll make a reservation: Russia is not China, where such vast quantity of population grades into quality. The main phenomenon is the capital. There are 12 million people officially registered in Moscow. 4 millions of them is pensioners. And pensioners in the capital of RF are using public transport for free, which is different in large majority of the rest places of the country.

The reason of described realities is total number of pensioners in giant metropolis. They are both the electors and flammable material in case of protest actions. In stormy 90’s in the center of Moscow, when almost half-a-million people were united under flags of communists and other left-wing political powers, the older people were the main body. Technically it’s not difficult, taking in account the scale, the quality and carrying capacity of the same Moscow subway, which everyday moving millions of people in different areas of the city.

Moscow is not only the place called so officially. Beyond Moscow Circle Highway there are tenth-floor residences, which are formally administratively submitted to regional authorities, yet actually living with resonance to capital. Plus more than 2 million people of commutation (going to Moscow in the morning and back home in the evening), plus hundreds of thousands of students from other towns; and guest workers, whose problems are too can’t be ignored.

As the result, both Russian Republic and Moscow City powers can’t carry on a policy, based on ignoring of interests and demands of people that are concentrated in such numbers on relatively small territory. In other multi-million cities of Russian Federation people are too easily enough rise to mass protests, if problems are actually concerning wide layouts of citizens. Presence of such pushers is exactly leading to the fact, that Russian nation is the subject of politics.

There is only one city in Kazakhstan that can turn out people to be the subject of politics. It is Almaty. Demography specialists estimate population in this metropolis about 2 million people, plus another million in close situated communities. So, the Almaty agglomeration contains about 20% of the whole population in the republic.

In 90’s the problem of social calm and stability of Power has been solved by the fact, that 80 to 90 per cent of all financial resources of the country turned over in Almaty. The second thing is mass migration. Liberal economical regime allowed citizens to sell privatized flats and went to find better life in Russia, Germany, USA, Israel and other countries. Thus, working places were freed and residential areas for new migrants.

In 00’s, the situation kind of changed, because vast resources were pulled over by Astana. But finally many of what has been initially going to new capital came back with following financial flows. For years of economical growth informal southern capital didn’t create any serious problems for ruling elite. The central Power had enough money on both Almaty and Astana.

Indifferent approach of Almaty citizens to politics, alongside with small number of other communities had been simplified control of Power over the population. Even in the period of income of oil dollars has been carried inter-elite nature. Yet, even such kind of political relations is not releasing from certain issues. The thing is that political life of Kazakhstan is short-cut on manual control of Nursultan Nazarbayev. And when, instead of same rules of a game for everyone, subjective decisions prevailing, appearing of “offended” is fatal.

After outbreak of social economical crisis the question of leaving people as only the object of politics became very sharp. Central Power has enough resources on Astana, and only the problem of cheated construction shareholders stays explosive; the situation in Almaty is way harder.

Logics of keeping political power demands to pay main attention to a capital. However, the specifics of Kazakhstan consists precisely that its capital – is two cities, which are distant from each other by thousand kilometers.

To keep Astana under control is relatively easy because of large number of state employees and presence of significant financial reserves of the state. But for Almaty, where percentage of state employees is less by a mile, and 60% of domestic income is given by small and middle-sized business, other recipes required. And now business association became active, demanding to replace VAT with sales taxation and weaken control depression of corrupted officials. Instead, entrepreneurs are promising to expand lifelines (more working places) in private sector and more tax income to state’s treasury.

There is actually the economics of spending petrodollars built in Kazakhstan. Nowadays, when incomes from crude oil, metals and other minerals fell down, it suffers from system crisis. New instruments and approaches required, which can supply people with work and salary. Only in such case the Power can rely on low political activity level of the people. It’s the question of life and death to present political regime, because it actually can’t and hardly can exist in conditions of political active masses of people. Kyrgyz scenario is fatal, where change of political regime leaded to significant increase of political process participants, and former figurants either leaved the country, or fell on the side of the road.

While being without ingenious instruments, the Power going further with old recipes. For example, road-map, implemented in Almaty, gave 20 thousand new working places. But this is all half-measures, because the same pin-striped masses, which lost their jobs in banks and companies, are far from changing phone and keypad on broom and shovel. Power must switch its dashboard from “remote control of economics” position to “development of economics”. While there is yet time.

4 comments

  1. Abrydla

    Точный замер. Пора «сарынь на кичку»!!!!

  2. Anonymous

    Абакшин один из лучших сетевых авторов в РК

  3. бесспорно!!!!

  4. Да, я с подобным тоже сталкивался :)

17.09.2009

Народ и политика в Казахстане

Cергей АБАКШИН

«Небо родит простолюдинов не для правителя,

оно возводит на престол правителя для простолюдинов».

Сюнь-цзы

То, что народ в Казахстане не является субъектом политики (только объектом), часто отмечал социолог Сабит Жусупов (ушел из жизни в 2007 году). В соседней России, по его же словам, народ был субъектом политики еще в 90-ые годы и остается им до сих пор. Кстати, не все российские эксперты были согласны с Жусуповым, полагая, что и в Российской Федерации народ лишь объект, а политика носит внутриэлитный характер. Однако факты заставляют согласиться с оценками Сабита Жусупова.

* * *

2009 09 17 NarodichkoКазахстан и Россия вроде бы очень похожи: в обеих странах гипертерриториальность (недостаточное количество населения для занимаемой территории), а людские ресурсы распределены крайне неравномерно. Но именно общие размеры населения и выступают главным водоразделом между Астаной и Москвой.

Сразу оговоримся: Россия – это не Китай, где такое количество населения, что переходит в качество само по себе. Тут главный феномен – столица. В Москве официально зарегистрировано 12 млн. жителей. Из них 4 млн. – это пенсионеры. И пенсионеры в столице РФ бесплатно ездят на общественном транспорте от метро до троллейбуса, чего нет в подавляющем большинстве всех остальных населенных пунктов страны.

Причина описанных выше реалий – это общее количество пенсионеров в огромном мегаполисе. Они и избиратели, и горючий материал в случае акций протеста. В бурные 90-ые годы в центре Москвы под знаменами коммунистов и других левых политических сил собиралось на митинги по полмиллиона человек, где люди пожилого возраста составляли основную массу. Технически это не сложно, принимая во внимание масштаб, качество и пропускную способность того же московского метрополитена, ежедневно перемещающего миллионы пассажиров в разные концы города.

Москва – это не только то, что официально так называется. За полосами МКАД (Московская кольцевая автомобильная дорога) стоят жилые здания в десятки этажей, формально находящиеся в административном подчинении у областных властей, однако реально живущих в резонансе со столицей. Плюс более 2-х миллионов человек маятниковой миграции (утром едут в Москву на работу, вечером назад с работы), плюс сотни тысяч иногородних студентов, еще гастарбайтеры, чьи проблемы тоже нельзя игнорировать.

В итоге российская республиканская и московская городская власть не в силах проводить политику, основанную на игнорировании интересов и запросов людей, в таком количестве собранных на довольно компактной территории. В городах-миллионниках Российской Федерации люди тоже достаточно легко поднимаются на массовый протест, если проблемы реально затрагивают широкие слои горожан. Наличие подобных «толкачей» и приводит к тому, что народ в России является субъектом политики.

В Казахстане есть только один город, способный по своему потенциалу превратить народ в субъект политики. Это Алматы. Специалисты по демографии оценивают население данного мегаполиса в 2 млн. человек, плюс 1 млн. приходится на близлежащие населенные пункты. То есть в алматинской агломерации сосредоточено порядка 20% общего населения республики.

В 90-ые годы проблема общественного спокойствия и устойчивости власти решалась тем, что порядка 80-90% всех финансовых ресурсов страны «крутилось» в Алматы. Второй момент – массовая эмиграция. Либеральный экономический режим позволял горожанам продавать приватизированные квартиры и отправляться за лучшей долей в Россию, Германию, США, Израиль и другие страны. Таким образом в мегаполисе освобождались рабочие места и жилой фонд для новых мигрантов.

В 2000-ые годы ситуация несколько поменялась, потому что огромные ресурсы стала оттягивать на себя Астана. Но в конечном итоге многое из того, что первоначально шло в столицу, последующими финансовыми потоками приходило в Алматы. За годы экономического роста неформальная южная столица не создавала серьезных проблем для правящей элиты. У центральной власти хватало денег и на Астану, и на Алматы.

Индифферентное отношение к политике у жителей Алматы вкупе со сравнительной малочисленностью других населенных пунктов облегчало контроль власти над жителями страны. Политика и в период притока сырьевых долларов продолжала носить внутриэлитный характер. Правда, даже такой формат политических отношений не избавляет от определенных проблем. Дело в том, что политическая жизнь Казахстана зациклена на «ручное управление» со стороны Нурсултана Назарбаева. А когда вместо единых для всех правил игры господствуют субъективные моменты, неизбежно появление «обиженных».

После того, как разразился социально-экономический кризис, вопрос оставления народа в качестве только объекта политики принял весьма острый характер. На Астану у центральной власти пока ресурсов хватает и взрывоопасной остается разве что проблема обманутых дольщиков. С Алматы все гораздо сложнее.

Логика удержания политической власти требует главное внимание уделять столице. Однако специфика Казахстана как раз в том и заключается, что у него фактическая столица — это два города, разнесенные в пространстве на тысячу километров друг от друга.

Астану удерживать сравнительно легче, из-за большого количества бюджетников и наличия определенных финансовых резервов у государства. Но для Алматы, где процент работников бюджетной сферы меньше в разы, а 60% доходов в местный бюджет дают поступления от малого и среднего бизнеса, нужны другие рецепты. И вот уже активизировались бизнес-ассоциации, которые требуют заменить НДС налогом с продаж и ослабить коррупционный пресс чиновничьих проверок. Взамен предприниматели обещают расширение линий жизни (больше рабочих мест) в частном секторе и больше налогов в государственную казну.

В Казахстане фактически построена экономика освоения сырьевых долларов. Сегодня, когда доходы от нефти, металлов и других полезных ископаемых резко упали, она переживает системный кризис. Нужны новые подходы и инструменты, способные обеспечить людей работой и зарплатой. Только в этом случае власть может рассчитывать на то, что политическая активность населения останется на низком уровне. Для действующего политического режима это вопрос жизни и смерти, потому что в условиях политической активности народных масс он существовать не умеет и вряд ли сможет. Неизбежен «кыргызский сценарий», где смена политического режима привела к значительному увеличению участников политического процесса, а прежние фигуранты либо покинули страну, либо выпали на обочину.

Не выработав оригинальных инструментов, власть идет дорогой старых рецептов. Например, реализуемая в Алматы «дорожная карта» создала 20 тыс. новых рабочих мест. Но это все полумеры, потому что те же представители «офисного планктона», потерявшие работу в банках и компаниях, далеко не всегда готовы менять телефон и клавиатуру на метлу и лопату. На пульте государственного управления власть должна переключить тумблер с позиции «контроль над экономикой» в положение «развитие экономики». Пока не поздно.

4 комментария

  1. Abrydla

    Точный замер. Пора «сарынь на кичку»!!!!

  2. Анонимно

    Абакшин один из лучших сетевых авторов в РК

  3. Да, я с подобным тоже сталкивался :)