04.12.2009

Handymerchant, or for whom the Customs Union is in favor

By Ilya BLOGGER

A merchant will cheat handyman in count,

A handymany will – in failed work

Yusuf Balasaguni

Less than a month left until Kazakhstan’s entrance into Customs Union with Russia and Belarus, but there are more questions than answers on present moment. Objectively, a big economical alliance would help our home economy. However, the tradition to turn inside out every good beginning gives a clue that different things might happen.

2009 12 04 GistomsIn 21st century the majority of states top authorities realizing, that integration is time-approved method to increase economics’ effectiveness; financial flows, goods, services and labor are moving more rapidly; the more larger market is, the less expenses it has on each unit of production. But primarily advantages from it are going for most powerful states and companies. In conditions of existing realities the optimal way to Kazakhstan is to exchange its market for a common market share with other participants.

Member countries couldn’t be limited by Customs Union in narrow meaning of the word. Which is to say, over-national authorities will appear; firstly in economical life, then in political too. Businessmen are usually going easier into alliances than politicians. But Astana controversially happened in Customs Union. The politicians are speeding the process, and entrepreneurs have many questions without answers. Because of that it is natural, that Kazakhstani makers are expressing concerns either on Customs Union and WTO (for instance, VAT rate or custom fee on imported cars).

Russian companies will get competitive advantages over this. A big player gets more advantages by virtue of lesser expenses per production unit. Before crisis it could be said about Kazakhstan, that financial sector will feel itself comfortable within the new establishment; however, today the republic has “tension” with economical areas, for which it would have no worries in the future union. National economy must change somehow. In addition, the situation should be observed not only from position of own scale. Membership in big association gives many pluses and minuses, which today are hard to see. For example, how Western China-Western Kazakhstan-Russia transportation corridor will work. In terms of customs Kazakhstan goes close to European borders, which is something never happened before. Objectively, there are niches, in which Kazakhstan would be more preferable than its partners, but they will become obvious as early as in process of Customs Union real-time functioning.

Unambiguously, the customers would win from it. That is going virtually from the moment of gaining independency, since Kazakhs are wearing only imported apparel. Non-competitive manufacturing will disappear.

The Customs Union is also good for Russian goods suppliers. The path is already beaten within the frame of EurAsEC, when customs duties on goods, produced within country members, were cancelled. All in all, the route of simplifying procedures, which are so unloved by makers, is for everyone’s profit. But global economical integration is a double-sided process, in which is needed not only to make terms than it is to reflect. When ones saying that participation in WTO is for the profit, and the others stating that it is not, then both of them are right. You need to enter WTO smart and prepared; otherwise if you are stupid, you’ll be robbed. Customs Union is like defensive barrier for those countries, which are require time and floor for the purpose to gain experience and skill, and then to go to wider scene.

The Customs Union represents one of types of economical alliance of two or more states, the most important feature of which is presence of common customs territory, single system of control over external economical activities, including customs fees, preferences and limitations.

As historical experience shows, civilization, geopolitical, socio-political, economical-geographical, socio-economical socio-cultural and ethno-psychological factors are forcing to establish customs unions. Very often the defining aspects of forming regional alliances, including customs unions, are political and cultural tendencies in countries’ level, commonness of geopolitical interests, similarities in mentality features, political cultures etc., allied by content and aiming. One of most important ideas understands that both processes of general strategy and particularly establishments of customs unions have historically characteristic and objective nature.

On present time following are well-known in the world: Arabian Common Market (Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Yemen, Libya, Mauritania and Syria), Central-American Common Market (Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Salvador), and Organization of Eastern-Caribbean States (Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Dominica, Montserrat, Sent-Kits and Nevis, Sent-Lucia, Sent-Vincent and Grenadines)

Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus Customs Union, which is appearing on our eyes, look quite typical for the purposes of abovementioned. Virtually right after USSR disintegration, which was happened as the result of historically regular and essential, but however temporarily tendencies of centrifugal nature prevailed, top authorities of leading post-soviet states were initiated integration processes. In full conformity with common system’s theory, for the purpose of consolidation, initially it was essential to radically line up. In arrears of time, thousands of documents were developed and agreed, which were concerning by one or other level the sphere of sorting and regulation of post-soviet countries relationships in informational, military, economical, political, juridical and cultural areas. In this connection the conclusion of the Customs Union is appearing to be quite regular and predictable.

Kazakhstan’s Participation in Customs Union will be additional factor, supporting its economical and political stability, allowing to substantively enlarging the potential sales market for the purpose of both further development of more or less stabile economical areas of present period (fuel-energy, non-ferrous and iron metallurgy and crops industry) and for renewal of fallen into decay (winemaking, fruit and vegetables growing etc.). More advantageous conditions for cross-countries flows of capital and labor will be created, which is undoubtedly will be a powerful factor of economical and social development.

Competitive areas will be also essentially enlarged, which is finally would have positive influence on common-economical dynamics. The intensification of collaboration of Customs Union country-members, aimed to solve infrastructural, ecological and other large-scale challenges which require combining of efforts, will become necessary and unavoidable.

Along with this it’s obvious that minuses too will be unavoidable. Particularly, it would be hard to Kazakhstan to protect its own economical interests, taking in account the absolute economical domination of Russia in the structure of the Union. It is no doubt that economical and political elites of Kazakhstan will have to make additional room. The sharpest problems at that will be ones which are appearing as a result of property and power redistribution relationships.

Obviously, the process of agreeing of countries’ interests and goals with union ones will be difficult and slow. This is witnessed not only by world experience, but our own too, gained over the last few decades. However, regional integration (regionalization) on this stage of development is regular and necessary. And there, curiously enough, the process of positioning itself in Customs Union will become definitive from the point of ability to hold a “politesse pause” in aim to defining the role of the partner; who is in front of you – a merchant or a handyman… It could be both in a same time. Could we then define our own role? One way or another, but intrigue is specified, and now it’s all over small thing – to write own scenario of new relationships. But could our elite handle it?

9 comments

  1. flemke

    I always thought that CU will be profitable only for Russia, since the other two have substantially less resources, both adminitrative, financial and natural. For that reason, Russia has better abilities to take control over things. And i bet my words will be proved by actual activity of CU.

  2. Anonymous

    Торгумелец это что такое?

  3. Anonymous

    Читай текст, дорогуша. Для этого он и был написан ;)

  4. Anonymous

    Да... Вызовы. вызовы и еще рас вызовы. Надо деражаться!!!!!!!

  5. Anonymous

    Да... Вызовы. вызовы и еще рас вызовы. Надо деражаться!!!!!!!

    ---------------------------------

    За хуй собственный что ли?

  6. Максат

    ...Да хотя бы!

  7. Видел что-то похожее в англоязычном инете, в Русскоязычном интернете про такие вещи как-то не особо часто сообщения увидишь.

  8. Anonymous

    А здесь появилась статья: www.better.kz/ru/#most-viewed

    И там более трезвый подход к теме

  9. Anonymous

    Англоязычный не англоязычный, а ресурс грамотный

04.12.2009

Торгумелец или В чью пользу сыграет Таможенный союз?

Илья БЛОГЕР

«Торговец умельца обманет при счете.

Умелец торговца – в оплошной работе».

Юсуф Баласагуни

Всего ничего осталось до вступления Казахстана в Таможенный союз с Россией и Баларусью, однако на сегодняшний день больше вопросов, чем ответов. Объективно большое экономическое объединение должно помочь отечественной экономике. Однако традиция любые хорошие начинания переворачивать во вред подсказывает, что случиться может всякое.

2009 12 04 GistomsВ XXI веке большинство государственных элит осознает, что интеграция – это проверенный временем способ повышения эффективности экономики: легче двигаются капиталы, товары, услуги и рабочая сила, больше рынок – ниже издержки на единицу продукции. Но и выигрывают от подобных объединений в первую очередь крупные государства и компании. Для Казахстана в условиях существующих реалий оптимальный путь – это обмен своего рынка на долю в рынке общем с другими участниками.

Страны-участницы не смогут ограничиться Таможенным союзом в узком смысле этого слова. То есть появятся наднациональные органы власти сначала в экономической жизни, а потом и в политической. Бизнесмены обычно легче идут на объединение, чем политики. Но с Астаной в Таможенном союзе получилось наоборот. Политики форсируют процесс, а у предпринимателей много вопросов без ответов. Поэтому вполне естественно, что казахстанские производители высказывают опасения по поводу Таможенного союза или ВТО (например, ставка НДС или пошлины на импортные автомобили).

Здесь у российских компаний будут конкурентные преимущества. Крупный игрок получает больше преимуществ в силу меньших издержек на единицу продукции. До кризиса про Казахстан можно было сказать, что в новом образовании себя уверенно почувствует финансовый сектор, однако сегодня у республики «напряженка» с отраслями, за которые в новом образовании можно быть спокойными. Национальной экономике придется как-то меняться. К тому же на ситуацию нужно смотреть не только с позиции собственного масштаба. Членство в большом объединении дает многие плюсы и минусы, которые сегодня трудно увидеть. Например, как будет работать транспортный коридор Западный Китай – Западный Казахстан – Россия. Казахстан в плане таможни выходит на рубежи Европы, чего раньше не было. Объективно есть ниши, в которых Казахстан будет предпочтительнее партнеров, но видно их станет уже в процессе реальной работы ТС.

Однозначно выиграют потребители. Да это происходит практически с момента получения независимости, ведь казахстанцы одеваются во все импортное. Неконкурентные производства закроются.

Таможенный союз – это здорово для поставщиков российских товаров. Тропинка уже протоптана в рамках соглашений ЕвразЭС, когда отменили таможенную пошлину на товары, произведенные внутри государств-участников. Вообще дорога по пути упрощения процедур, которые так не любят производители – это всем на пользу. Но глобальная экономическая интеграция – это процесс с обоюдоострыми краями. И здесь нужно не столько торговаться, сколько размышлять. Когда по вступлению в ВТО одни говорят что это на пользу, а другие во вред, то и те и другие правы. В ВТО нужно входить умными и подготовленными, а если ты тупой – тебя ограбят. Таможенный союз – это как бы защитный барьер для трех стран, которым требуется и время и площадка для того, чтобы набраться ума и навыков, а потом выходить на более широкую сцену.

Таможенный союз представляет собой один из типов политико-экономического объединения двух и более государств, важнейшим признаком которого является наличие общей таможенной территории, единой системы регуляторов внешнеэкономической деятельности, в том числе таможенных тарифов, преференций и ограничений.

Как показывает исторический опыт, к созданию таможенных союзов подталкивают цивилизационные, геополитические, экономико-географические, социально-экономические, социально-политические, социокультурные и этнопсихологические факторы. Зачастую определяющими аспектами формирования региональных объединений, в том числе и таможенных союзов, являются близкие по содержанию и направленности политические и культурные тенденции странового уровня, общность геополитических интересов, сходство черт менталитетов, политических культур и т.д. Одним из важнейших представлений является понимание того, что процессы как системообразования вообще, так и возникновения таможенных союзов в частности, носят исторически закономерный и объективный характер.

В настоящее время в мире наиболее известны: Арабский общий рынок (Египет, Ирак, Иордания, Йемен, Ливия, Мавритания, Сирия), Центральноамериканский общий рынок (Гватемала, Гондурас, Коста-Рика, Никарагуа, Сальвадор), Организация восточно-карибских государств (Антигуа и Барбуда, Гренада, Доминика, Монтсеррат, Сент-Китс и Невис, Сент-Люсия, Сент-Винсент и Гренадины).

Возникающий на наших глазах таможенный союз России, Казахстана и Беларуси в контексте вышесказанного выглядит вполне типичным. Практически сразу после распада СССР, происшедшего вследствие исторически закономерного и необходимого, однако временного возобладания тенденций центробежного характера, руководителями ведущих постсоветских государств были инициированы интеграционные процессы. В полном соответствии с принципами общей теории систем для того, чтобы объединиться, вначале необходимо было радикально размежеваться. За истекший период времени были разработаны и согласованы тысячи документов, относящихся в той или иной степени к сфере упорядочения и регулирования взаимоотношений постсоветских государств в информационной, военной, экономической, политической, правовой и культурной областях. Заключение таможенного союза в этой связи является вполне закономерным и предсказуемым.

Участие в Таможенном союзе для Казахстана явится дополнительным фактором, обеспечивающим его экономическую и политическую стабильность, позволит существенно расширить потенциальные рынки сбыта как для дальнейшего развития более или менее благополучных в настоящее время отраслей экономики (топливно-энергетическая, цветная и черная металлургия, зерновое хозяйство), так и для возрождения пришедших в упадок (виноделие, производство фруктов, овощей и т.д.). Будут созданы более благоприятные условия для кросс-страновых переливов капитала и рабочей силы, что, безусловно, явится мощным фактором экономического и социального развития.

Существенно расширится сфера конкуренции, что, в конечном счете, также окажет позитивное влияние на общеэкономическую динамику. Необходимым и неизбежным станет интенсификация взаимодействия стран-участниц Таможенного союза, направленного на решение инфраструктурных, экологических и иных масштабных задач, требующих объединения усилий.

Вместе с тем вполне очевидно, что не удастся избежать и минусов. В частности, Казахстану будет довольно трудно отстаивать собственные экономические интересы, учитывая абсолютное экономическое доминирование России в структуре союза. Несомненно, придется потесниться экономической и политической элитам Казахстана. Наиболее острыми при этом станут проблемы, возникающие как следствие передела отношений собственности и власти.

Несомненно, процесс согласования страновых интересов и целей с союзными будет непростым и небыстрым. Об этом свидетельствует не только общемировой опыт, но и наш собственный, накопленный в последние десятилетия. Однако, региональная интеграция (регионализация) на данном этапе развития закономерна и неизбежна. И здесь, как ни странно, процесс позиционирования себя в Таможенном союзе, станет определяющим, с точки зрения умения держать «политесную паузу», с целью определения роли партнера – «торговец» или «умелец» перед тобой… Ведь может статься, что и то, и другое одновременно. Сумеем ли тогда определиться со своей ролью? Так или иначе, но интрига обозначена и теперь дело за малым – написать свой сценарий новых взаимоотношений. Но способна ли на это наша элита?

9 комментариев

  1. flemke

    I always thought that CU will be profitable only for Russia, since the other two have substantially less resources, both adminitrative, financial and natural. For that reason, Russia has better abilities to take control over things. And i bet my words will be proved by actual activity of CU.

  2. Анонимно

    Торгумелец это что такое?

  3. Анонимно

    Читай текст, дорогуша. Для этого он и был написан ;)

  4. Анонимно

    Да... Вызовы. вызовы и еще рас вызовы. Надо деражаться!!!!!!!

  5. Анонимно

    Да... Вызовы. вызовы и еще рас вызовы. Надо деражаться!!!!!!!

    ---------------------------------

    За хуй собственный что ли?

  6. Максат

    ...Да хотя бы!

  7. Видел что-то похожее в англоязычном инете, в Русскоязычном интернете про такие вещи как-то не особо часто сообщения увидишь.

  8. Анонимно

    А здесь появилась статья: www.better.kz/ru/#most-viewed

    И там более трезвый подход к теме

  9. Анонимно

    Англоязычный не англоязычный, а ресурс грамотный